The GULS Law Review

Getting you through the GU law degree!

header photo

The Law Society runs a huge amount of employability events that will help you get your dream job. You can find a list of these below, some of which we have even partnered with the Law School to create!

 

Make Me a Lawyer! Sponsored by Linklaters

Thursday, September 19th, 2013

Woolfson Medical School

As we welcome you back to a new year of Law School, we want to make sure that you are all equipped for the year ahead. Got any burning questions about the year facing you or simply don't have a clue what's going on? Then this event is for you.

On Thursday 19th September, GULS will be running our first ever 'Make Me a Lawyer!' event aimed at guiding you through the next year and discussing with you many of the issues we all faced when we were in your position. Each seminar will be led by students who have just finished in the year above, ready to answer any questions and calm any fears you may have. 

We will be talking about all aspects of the academic side of the degree and also topics such as getting summer placements/traineeships, studying abroad, volunteering, extra-curricular activities, application tips and surviving everything inbetween! All directed at YOUR year group.

As if this wasn't enough, we will be providing free pizza and free drinks. 

Kindly sponsored by Linklaters, the event is sure to be an excellent opportunity to get your head around the year to come!

Each year group is timed as follows:

2nd years: 12.00pm - 1.30pm
3rd years: 1.30pm - 3.00pm
4th years: 3.00pm - 4.30pm

 

Second Hand Book Sale

Monday, September 30th - Wednesday, October 2nd, 2013 

GUU

One of the worst things about studying law is by far getting a hold of the books. They can be horrendously hard to find in the library (especially in a large class) and buying them new or on amazon is extortionate. 

Luckily we here at GULS want to help you save (or make) as much money as possible, so we present you with our first semester secondhand booksale!

Come down to the GUU on the 1st - 2nd October to purchase some of your course texts at a fraction of the cost. It is by far the best way to get books on campus.

If you want to sell back your old books and make some money, come to the Stair Building on Monday the 30th September where you can drop your books in and decide on prices. It is only a £3 entry fee to enter as many books as you like, and we will even be nice enough to give you that back if none of your books sell - that way you have nothing to lose! Early collection this year means your books have a better chance of selling and if you are buying, all the books will be waiting for you at the start.

The times of sale this year are as follows:

Monday 30th September
Book Drop Off
12pm - 5pm (Stair Building)

Tuesday 1st October 
Book Sale
9am - 5pm

Wednesday 2nd October 
Book Sale
9am - 3pm

All books (and cash) must be collected by 3pm on Tuesday. Anything not collected will be left in the GUU library at your own risk.

Happy Selling!

Team GULS x

 

Getting Your Legal Career Started

Tuesday, October 1st, 2013

Fore Hall

The times are as follows:

11.00-12.00 2 Year Accelerated LLB Students

14.00-15.00 All 4 Year LLB Students

 

Effective Legal Applications (1)

Tuesday, October 8th, 2013

Fore Hall

The times are as follows:

11.00-12.00 & 14.00-15.00

 

Bubbles & Truffles

Wednesday, October 9th, 2013

Sir Charles Wilson Building - 18.30

Making a return this year is the GULS Bubbles & Truffles Networking Evening! 

After the huge success that was last year's event, we have expanded the event to make is bigger and better than ever before. We have now confirmed 8 huge name firms across a huge spectrum of specialities - from Commercial to Criminal, Private Client to Litigation and even Non-Law firms thrown in for good measure - this is simply THE event to be at when thinking about employers that offer work experience and graduate jobs such as traineeships.

The attending firms this year are as follows:

Pinsent Masons
CMS Cameron McKenna
Linklaters 
Freshfields
BTO
Simpson & Marwick
Dundas & Wilson 
EY

Come and join us in this intimate night of presentations from these huge names followed by a few hours of networking with free bubbly and chocolate truffles! This year we have even made a take-away brochure of exclusive hints and tips from these firms and even more who could not attend the evening itself. 

Last year was a huge success and we expect tickets will sell out again. Pick up your ticket at the following times for only £3 members and £5 non-members:

Thursday 3rd & Friday 4th October
12pm-4pm in the Stair Building Foyer
3RD YEAR, 4TH YEAR, POSTGRADUATE, DIPLOMA AND ACCELERATED STUDENTS. 

Monday 7th October
12pm - 4pm in the Stair Building Foyer
1ST AND 2ND YEAR STUDENTS. 

Dress code is Suit Up! 

Any questions about the event should be directed to our Academic Convenor, Eve Massie, at academic@gulawsociety.com

Team GULS xo

 

Interview and Assessment Centres

Wednesday, October 16th, 2013

Fore Hall

Delivered by HR managers from McClure Naismith and Burness-Paull

The times for this event are as follows:

13.00-14.00 & 14.00-15.00

 

So You Don't Want to be a Lawyer (Considering a non-legal career?)

Tuesday, October 22nd, 2013

Gloag Lecture Theatre, Stair Building - 14.00-15.00

Targeted at final year LLB Students 

 

A Winning CV/Gaining Work Experience 

Tuesday, November 12th, 2013

Gloag Lecture Theatre, Stair Building - 11.00-12.00

Targeted at years 1,2 & 3 LLB

 

The Second Hand Book Sale

Tuesday, January 21st - Wednesday, January 22nd, 2014

GUU

It's that time of year again! 

Come down to the GUU on the 21st- 22nd January to purchase some of your course texts for 2nd semester at a fraction of the cost. It is by far the best way to get books on campus.

If you want to sell back your old books and make some money, come to the Stair Building on Tuesday 21st where you can drop your books in and decide on prices. It is only a £3 entry fee to enter as many books as you like, and we will even be nice enough to give you that back if none of your books sell - that way you have nothing to lose! 

Tuesday 21st
BOOK DROP OFF
9-11am (Elliot Library in GU)
BOOK SALE
11am-5pm

Wednesday
BOOK SALE
9am-3pm

All books (and cash) must be collected by 3pm on Wednesday. Anything not collected will be left in the GUU library at your own risk.

 

Effective Legal Applications (2)

Tuesday, January 21st, 2013

Fore Hall

This is a repetition of the event in October.

The times for this event are as follows:

11.00-12.00 & 14.00-15.00

 

GULS Law Review Publication Reception Sponsored by CMS Cameron McKenna

Wednesday, January 29th, 2014

Sir Charles Wilson Building 

Celebrating the launch of the inaugural edition of The GULS Law Review!

Doors at 7.30pm for announcements starting at 7.45pm. Afterwards we will be hosting a Champagne Reception accompanied by a selection of canapés.

CMS Cameron McKenna representatives will be present to announce the winner of their Essay Prize from our group of GULS candidates, so come along and show your support. 

Entry is free, but we have limited capacity for the event. Tickets will be available to pick up on Monday between 11.30am and 2pm outside the undergraduate office in the Stair Building, first come first served!

Dress code: Smart

 

Mooting Workshops

February 2014

The Sir Alexander Stone Court Room

 

Futures Events  

Career Paths Following the LLB

Gloag Lecture Theatre, Stair Building 17.00-19.00

Each event will focus on a different career path following the LLB (eg a Career in Government, a Career via post-grad study). Invited speakers (often Law school alumni) will present at each event and there will be a drinks and nibbles reception for networking.

These events shall take place on the following dates:

Tuesday, October 1st, 2013

Tuesday, November 19th, 2013

Tuesday, January 14th, 2014

Tuesday, January 28th, 2014

Tuesday, February 25th, 2014

 

Careers Clinics

Room G/33, Stair Building - 10.00-12.00 

These are one-on-one bookable sessions with the Law Careers Adviser in the Law School.

These events shall take place on the following dates:

Thursday, October 24th, 2013

Thursday, November 7th, 2013

Thursday, November 21st, 2013

Thursday, December 5th, 2013

Thursday, January 16th, 2014

Thursday, January 30th, 2014

Thursday, February 20th, 2014 (Subject to demand)

Thursday, February 27th, 2014

Thursday, March 13th, 2014

Thursday, April 24th, 2014

Thursday, May 8th, 2014

Thursday, May 22nd, 2014